

January 12, 2023

To the Indiana General Assembly,

As property owners, residents, workers and visitors seeking a healthy and vibrant community in the Mile Square, we embrace the opportunity to support and invest in our downtown and help downtown Indianapolis thrive.

A cared-for, vibrant downtown is key to growing our businesses, attracting workers, residents, and visitors, as well as encouraging further investment in our capital city and central Indiana region.

The Mile Square Economic Enhancement District (EED) will provide a sustainable funding source and an unprecedented level of targeted investment downtown, driven by the needs of property owners in the district. For decades, EEDs have been used in downtowns and central business districts across the country to provide a competitive advantage to the area, offer greater levels of direct property owner engagement and responsiveness, and help protect property owners' investment. There are more than 2,000 such districts across the country – downtown Indianapolis was the largest central business district in the country without an EED. Until now.

The budget for the Mile Square EED directly aligns with the priorities the downtown business and residential community identified, including 7-day-a-week cleaning services, an increased safety presence and technology, and enhanced homelessness outreach within the Mile Square. It also includes operational support for a Housing Hub low-barrier homeless shelter that will serve as a single entry point into the Indianapolis homelessness response system.

These investments will help encourage more workers to return downtown, build on the momentum we're seeing in residential and development growth, and ensure Indianapolis and the region are world-class destinations for residents and visitors alike.

Indianapolis is positioned for a new wave of economic investment and success. More than \$9 billion of planned investment in downtown projects is expected over the next five years. We believe this EED will help us maintain this momentum and ensure future investment.



Working together to prioritize and invest in our downtown will be a game-changer for our city, region, and state—and we're eager to get started.

We urge you to join us in support of the new Mile Square Economic Enhancement District (EED).

Sincerely,

Brandi Davis-HandyChief Customer Officer, AES Indiana

Wayne Patrick, CRO, AIS

Julie Goodman, Arts Council of Indianapolis

Jennifer Young Dzwonar, Partner, Borshoff

John Hirschman, President & CEO, Principal, Browning

Doug Brown, Partner, Bose McKinney & Evans LLP & District Homeowner

Greg Jacoby, Principal, Chief Executive Officer, Browning Day

Mary Beth Oaks, CEO / Owner, Business Furniture

Patty Prosser, Center for Leadership Excellence & District Homeowner

David M. Mellott, PhD, President, Christian Theological Seminary

Matt Carlstedt, Managing Director, Citimark, inc.

Drew Linn, Chief Strategy Officer / Partner, Counterpart

Tim Jeffers, Principal Director Business Development, CSO Architects

Jim Schacht, Vice President, Corporate Responsibility, Cummins, Inc.

Perry Griffith III, President, Denison Parking

Taylor Schaffer, President & CEO, Downtown Indy, Inc.

Susan Brock Williams, Assoc. VP, State Government Affairs; Indiana and West Virginia, Eli Lilly and Company

Gordon Brooks, Chief Procurement Officer & CFO, Bio-Medicines, Eli Lilly and Company

Tammy Butler Robinson, CEO, Engaging Solutions

Philip G. Kenney, President, F.A. Wilhelm Construction Co., Inc.

Kathy Osborn, Indianapolis Office Leader, Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath

Mike Ash, Regional President, Fifth Third Bank

Kevin Pahud, Managing Partner, FORVIS

Heather Wilson, Attorney, Frost, Brown, Todd LLP



Eric Gershman, President, Gershman Partners

Emily Koschnick, Executive Director, Greater Indianapolis Progress Committee

Andrew Appel, President & CEO, Gregory & Appel Insurance

Scott Ransburg, Market President, Huntington National Bank

Melissa Proffitt, Partner-in-Charge of Client Relations, Ice Miller, LLP

Patrick Talty, President, Indiana Sports Corp

James M. Johnson, Chief Executive Officer, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra

Tony Mason, President & CEO, Indianapolis Urban League

Julie Goodman, President & CEO, Indy Arts Council

Matt Mindrum, Incoming President & CEO, Indy Chamber

IndyGo

Dennis Murphy, President & CEO, IU Health

Dr. Carol Anne Murdoch-Kinch, Interim Chancellor, IU Indianapolis

J. Albert Smith, Retired, Indiana Chairman, JP Morgan Chase

Dorene & Leonard Hoops, Homeowner, Mass Ave.

Shelley Specchio, CEO, MIBOR

Demetrius Glover, Ph.D., CEO and President, Mid-States Minority Supplier Development Council

D. Penn Moody, O.D., CEO / Founder, Moody Eyes, Inc.

John McDonald, Managing Entrepreneur, NEXT Studies

Bryan Brenner, Managing Director, NFP

Brian Henning, SVP Corporate Banking, Old National Bank

Fu'ad Butt, Head of Enterprise Digital Strategy, OneAmerica

Peace Learning Center

Julia Saltsgaver, Executive Director, Quality Connection of Central Indiana

Billie Dragoo-Garcia, Founder & CEO, Repucare, Inc.

Amy Waggoner, VP, US State & Local Government Affairs, Salesforce

Matt Haehl, President, Shelby Materials

Kevin Hunt, President, Shiel Sexton Company, Inc.

Bob Hicks, Managing Partner, Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP

Russell Menyhart, Partner, Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP

Brad Schwer, Partner-in-Charge, Indianapolis, Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP

Patty Prosser, Co-Founder and Executive Coach, The Center for Leadership Excellence



Donald Bough, Business Manager, UA Local 440

Leonard Hoops, President/CEO, Visit Indy

Perry Hines, President & CEO, Wheeler Mission

Paul Ashley, Downtown Supporter

Brad Beaubien, Downtown Supporter

Eric Bockelman, Downtown Supporter

Gary Brackett, Downtown Supporter

Rose Branson, Downtown Supporter

Molly Carlino, Downtown Property Owner

Grayson Cates, Downtown Supporter

Rick Cockrum, Downtown Supporter

Kelly Douglas, Downtown Supporter

Jennifer Dzwonar, Downtown Supporter

Greg Fennig, Downtown Supporter

Taylor Firestine, Downtown Supporter

Heather Ford, Downtown Supporter

Julie Goodman, Downtown Property Owner

Tom Green, Downtown Supporter

Lily Groot, Downtown Property Owner

Amos Haffner, Downtown Supporter

Samuel Hanes, Downtown Supporter

Tom Hanley, Downtown Property Owner

Jennifer Hollingshead, Downtown Supporter

Stephanie James, Downtown Supporter

Jacinda Johnson, Downtown Resident

Vicky Keramida, Downtown Property Owner

Mitchell Kirk, Downtown Supporter

Hazel M Walker, Downtown Property Owner

Marie Mackintosh, Downtown Supporter

Jose Martinez, Downtown Resident

Braxton Martorano, Downtown Resident

Kristin Mays-Corbitt, Downtown Property Owner

Alexis McLaughlin, Downtown Property Owner

Anna Morgan, Downtown Resident

Madyson Morgan, Downtown Supporter

Megan Nail, Downtown Supporter

Kevin Osburn, Downtown Property Owner

Jim Perry, Downtown Supporter

Stacie Porter Bilger, Downtown Property Owner

Parker Post, Downtown Resident

Joshua Pruitt, Downtown Supporter

Kailee Queener, Downtown Property Owner



Raymond Rains, Downtown Resident

Jeff Robinson, Downtown Supporter

Paul Sammons, Downtown Supporter

Shayna Sangster, Downtown Supporter

Kevin Sears, Downtown Property Owner

Carol Sears, Downtown Property Owner

Meg Storrow, Downtown Property Owner

Jeffrey Stroebel, Downtown Property Owner

Mary Ann Sullivan, Downtown Property Owner

Lisa Vielee, Downtown Property Owner

Amanda Wade, Downtown Supporter

Jeffery Watkins, Downtown Property Owner

Ashley Watson, Downtown Supporter

André Zhang Sonera, Downtown Resident

Blaine Zimmerman, Downtown Supporter

Gene Zink, Downtown Property Owner